Web Hosting Reviews: Unbiased Webhosting User Reviews!
 Unbiased Hosting Companies User Reviews & Discounts

10

Reviews
Features3.43.43.43.43.4
Support2.82.82.82.82.8
Value2.72.72.72.72.7
Overall Rating2.62.62.62.62.6

GreenGeeks is famous for offering the fantastic green web hosting to its customers. By offering a number of domain hosting, the users can easily register their sites in a single control panel. GreekGeeks also ensure that your site’s performance is not limited and all this is available with multiple email address and unlimited storage.

GreenGeeks - $30 OFF Coupon

The best GreenGeeks coupon code available online: $30 OFF.
$30
GG30OFFGG30OFF
Your request has been sent to the admin                
Ongoing
Click Here To Visit This Host
& Get The Special Offers !

10 Reviews to “GreenGeeks”


Pete Rowland June 9, 2011

I have tried a lot of different webhosting companies, a lot of from Denmark, where i’m from, and now I would try something else. First I tried vps.net, and that just worked, nice response times and never a outage, but it was to much laborious work to maintain the server, since I don’t know much about that part. So I decided to try Green Geeks, looked ok and it was also nice with the eco friendly power. And that all fine but it just doesn’t work, every day there are multiple outages, and the support just say, try again in 20 minutes. I use Pingdom.com and site24x7.com and its not a pretty sight, 10 outages the last 4 days. Thats just sad, so I’m off to another host.

Features44444
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Winston Jacobs June 13, 2011

Have a friend who used GreenGeeks to host his website. Without warning, GreenGeeks suspended his site saying he was using too many resources so he came to me for help.

Admittedly, my friend’s site demands more than GreenGeeks budget hosting is meant to provide, but here’s why I’m giving the negative review. I logged in via SSH and was stunned to discover over 900 accounts on a single 6GB server instance. Overloaded much? I can’t recommend their web hosting to anyone after seeing this.

Features55555
Support33333
Value22222
Overall Rating11111
Rishi Dhillon June 21, 2011

I found GreenGeeks after months of searching for a reputable host. I also asked one of my computer expert friends and he also recommended GreenGeeks, so I gave them a shot. I was very glad that I chose GreenGeeks. Yesterday, my WordPress blog got hacked. I contacted their support, I was amazed at how quickly they were able to restore the pages for me.

I would’ve been so lost without the backups, but thanks to GreenGeeks’ excellent customer service, I was up and running again in no time!

Features55555
Support55555
Value55555
Overall Rating55555
Watson July 2, 2011

Having used Green Geeks for 6 months now, I am satisfied with the web host. It has succeeded in providing me the all inclusive and powerful green web host plan which surprised me by delivering top class hosting features at affordable rates. The plan was suited and tailor made as per my hosting needs and the requirements of my business.
The web host provides my site 99.9 percent uptime, as promised and maintained. While have seen that other web hosts too claim the similar percentage of uptime, what I actually found that there is difference between the other hosts and Green Geek as it focuses on non polluting, energy efficient, wind power that offers the great uptime percentage.

Features33333
Support44444
Value44444
Overall Rating44444
Smith July 9, 2011

No wonder the name of this web hosting company is bound to attract many people! GreenGeeks, as the name says it all, is a wonderful effort in terms of energy conservation. Not only did it offer me free domain and site builder tools, but also helped me through its amazing support which was available through e-mail and telephone too. I did not face a complaint even once while working with GreenGeeks and it has given me a great service. This is the reason, I am thinking of getting another website on Internet with the same hosting company.

Features55555
Support55555
Value44444
Overall Rating55555
Jaen shaw July 12, 2011

The Green Geeks offer a number of hosting packages for clients such as us to choose from and this is something that offers the clients a kind of platform to begin from. So whether you are the upcoming company like mine that requires low budget hosting package or some big company requiring the dedicated server, Green Geeks has all features to fulfill the needs.

What I basically like about the features provided by the company is that when I registered for a hosting package, it included the site migration free of cost as I was using the hosting services of some other company.I was also happy with their free of cost site building with templates that helped me to start my site easily.

Features55555
Support55555
Value55555
Overall Rating55555
Stephan September 9, 2011

The good thing about Green Geeks it is eco friendly. There does it stop though. I have a reseller account with them. And one of the websites under this account generated 200 visitors per day. Suddenly all sub accounts under my reseller account started to produce random 500 errors. According to Green Geeks this is because all resources are shared and the 200 visitors per day site is a high traffic site that uses to much memory. They also told me that a reseller account has the same resources allocated to it as a normal account. It costs 4x more though.

Support some how could not understand that A. 200 visitors per day is not that much, B. that a reseller account should get resources allocated to each sub account, C. that random errors is not the way to go, an email about over usage would be normal, D. that reseller sub accounts should not affect each other.

In general I would say Green Geeks overloads their servers. Avoid this host and certainly their reseller accounts, as they really do not know what a reseller accounts is.

Features22222
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Alison Bradley October 11, 2011

It’s been a disaster from start to finish…

Free site Migration problems:
They offered to move my site across for free, so I gave them my GoDaddy login. A month later, with a lot of chasing/phoning they finally moved the WRONG database across.

Unlimited hosting problems:
I have had my small Drupal site taken offline because it went over the allowance for the amount of CPU usage allotted to my hosting package.

Drupal hosting problems:

They said (before I moved my site over to their servers), that their hosting package was better for Drupal hosting than GoDaddy (who was a bit slow).
What they neglected to mention, was that I would need to purchase a $19.95 per month upgrade to enable my site to function at all.
Without paying this mafia style payoff each month they take my site offline as it exceeds the allotted amount of CPU resource allotted to their normal web hosting.

Customer service problems:
I am based in the UK, so can not get support during office hours.
They offer ’24 hour support’ but fail to explain that this is through a livechat facility that has a very unknowledgeable, unfriendly, unhelpful respondent who always takes a good few minutes to respond, and says that he can’t help any serious queries (eg. he just says “send an email to our support team” if you say anything more than “hello”).

Overall:
I manage a large portfolio of websites, and have used loads of different web hosts over my 10 year in web publishing… but Green Geeks are by far the worst. I was attracted by their Eco-credentials, and cheap price, but will be looking to move away from them as soon as possible.
I currently use this following hosts for my large portfolio of sites: [[Edit: Other hosts Names Removed]]. Some of these web hosts have occasionally let me down with downtime etc. and some are worse than others, but I am realistic and understand that they can’t be 100% perfect. Greek Geeks on the other hand are in a league of their own in terms of how dreadful they are. I have actually considered taking legal action against them. I have read some good reviews of them (including on this page), but frankly I can only imagine that these are written by Green Geeks Marketing/PR people.

Features11111
Support11111
Value22222
Overall Rating11111
Jennifer October 11, 2011

When I signed up for hosting and registered the mandatory domain that comes with the package, my details were not hidden as promised in their advertising – security flaw. It took a few emails back and forth before someone picked up the email who understands what is ‘whois’ and what I was requesting.

There is another security issue to do with login that I wont mention but it is a security flaw and when I questioned them they couldn’t help me ‘that’s the way it’s set up’. In my experience they do reply promptly and try to be helpful – I just suggest they improve their staff technical training.

Servers are up and down alot, frequently can’t log in (I’m writing this review now during one such time). Account password is sent on a secure channel but the password is visible in the URL. I strongly suggest they improve their security as otherwise sites are easily hacked into.

Otherwise it is all good but my site is a low volume site so I don’t really know how it will be if the site gets more successful in the future. I have had a shared hosting account with them for one year.

Features33333
Support22222
Value22222
Overall Rating22222
Jody February 21, 2012

The full 30 day money back guarantee. Don’t expect to ever get your money back in full with these clowns. Don’t expect to be able to host anything but a simple html site with them. Don’t expect to put a php contact form on your site it won’t work it will make the site go down. If you ask about it and I even told them how to fix it they will just blame it on you and your website. This is not unlimited anything. Please don’t waist your money with these people. They are not very knowledgeable about what they are doing and you will never see a full refund from them ever. Don’t believe the reviews you see where the owner is going around making excuses for every person that writes a bad review. I did and I lost money. Do your self a BIG FAVOR & Stay away from this place.

Features11111
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111




Click Here To Visit This Host !