Web Hosting Reviews: Unbiased Webhosting User Reviews!
 Unbiased Hosting Companies User Reviews & Discounts

26

Reviews
Features2.422.422.422.422.42
Support1.851.851.851.851.85
Value1.881.881.881.881.88
Overall Rating1.81.81.81.81.8

Volusion shopping cart is another great option to choose from. Volusion makes your site look very unique and exclusive that is definitely a plus point for your business. It offers some of the great features that are bound to create a great impact on your customers as well.

 

Volusion - 14 Days Free

Try Volusion Free for 14 days.
$$
Your request has been sent to the admin                
Ongoing

 

Click Here To Visit This Host
& Get The Special Offers !

27 Reviews to “Volusion”


Logan Hall August 9, 2011

Features – I started with Volusion over 5 years ago and I didn’t think their features could get any better. Over the years Volusion has introduced countless features, most of which have been submitted/suggested by their customer base so it’s obvious they listen to their customers. I’ve tried over 10 different e-commerce solutions and constantly find myself comparing them to Volusion, with the competitors coming up short every time.

Support – I really can’t say enough about their support, it honestly is the best support I have received from ANY company. When getting started with my first store through Volusion, I had a question every hour and thanks to their Live Chat, I was able to have answers for those questions within minutes! Any time I had a problem with my store (which was very minimal), I could get a hold of someone immediately… I remember one time in particular, a Volusion support rep worked with me for over 2 hours working to resolve a error I had created while editing a theme. I wish there was an option for 6 stars for support because they definitely go the extra mile.

Value – With their many different levels of pricing, they are sure to have a level for just about anyone. Starting with very reasonable pricing, they offer tons of features even with their Basic starters package and work their way on up from there. Although there are many free ways to do e-commerce, Volusion offers hundreds of dollars worth of extras (coupons, bulk exporting, extensive product options, built-in shipping rates, so much more) that just can’t be matched anywhere else.

Overall – Although I think Volusion should give a bit more discount to those who have multiple stores (They do 10% off for each additional store), there is really nothing else I can say bad about Volusion. They have never charged me with bogus fees, they have helped me even when they technically didn’t have to (DNS/hosting troubles), and most recently even sent our company a custom wooden business card holder with our logo and website address engraved into it just as a show of customer appreciation. I would/do recommend Volusion to ANYONE looking to run an e-commerce site, no matter the size of the company!

Features55555
Support55555
Value55555
Overall Rating55555
Allison Lynch August 10, 2011

I have not one negative thing to say about Volusion! Their tech support is AWESOME! Their features are outstanding and they continue to add new ones that consistently rock. It’s a great price – overall 5 stars! If I could rate it higher I would!!

Features55555
Support55555
Value55555
Overall Rating55555
Elitia Viviers August 25, 2011

As a newcomer to the world of Ecommerce, I have to applaud Volusion and their support team for the wonderful work they do! The whole experience from setting up my demo store to activating the site was such a breeze and even though I might be a small client to them, they treated me as if I am their most valued customer. I also want to mention that Amid (my support agent) was extremely helpful and patient with my inexperience and he guided me through the process like an expert.
I will definitely recommend Volusion to everyone I know!

Features55555
Support55555
Value55555
Overall Rating55555
Luke Brady September 4, 2011

We have been with Volusion for over four years. The first two where pretty much problem free, but then problems began popping up and it has gotten progressivly worse. I’m now at the point that I can’t wait to shed them. As soon as our new site is built we are gone.

My complaints:

1) Slow loading. Pages frequently time out, both for customers loading accessing product pages and and for us in when accessing the admin areas.

2) Unusable for some people. I get several calls a week from customers who say that when they enter their information to order it disappears when then click the order button the page prompts them to enter it again, creating a loop. I have no idea how many thousands of dollars this has cost us. When I have told this to customer service, they say there is no problem and our site is functioning normally.

3) The admin area is poorly structured and not instinctive.

4) Design, unless you are a skilled designer, or willing to drop $500-$1000 for a custom design, your site will look like it is visiting from 2002.

Features33333
Support11111
Value22222
Overall Rating11111
William Kane September 7, 2011

Stay Away is my main comment.

There are some many issues that after spending weeks designing a shop for my client, I’ve decided to start again with a new supplier.

1) Archaic system which claims to be flexible but is anything but! There are so many design flaws its not funny. It’s a system which was written by IT guys with no understanding of business or any awareness of a good user experience. I had to hack out every element to even make a halfway decent shopfront – but even for a skilled designer making anything which even looks like it came from this decade is nigh on impossible.

2) PayPal and Google Checkout integration sucks! Paypal standard can’t even accept credit cards!

3) If you’re selling services rather than actual products – forget it – shoot yourself in the head first!

4) Slowest servers I’ve ever seen – even on a high speed connection it can be minutes to change a single element, and the FTP servers are a joke – average download speed 0.5-1kb/s (i’m not kidding!).

5) Pages frequently slow and time out for customers.

6) Support is truly 24-7 which is great, on the downside half of the support staff haven’t got a clue and “Working as intended” seems to be the stock phrase. It’s like the Captain of the Titanic saying that to his passengers as the ship goes down!

7) They all but force you to buy a Volusion SSL (which takes 10 working days to register) because transferring your existing one costs £99!!!

I’ve wasted weeks on this system – I hope I can save someone else the same…

Features11111
Support22222
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Mark Taylor September 12, 2011

If you don’t mind waiting a long time for page loads, meaning if you don’t mind trying to improve your store at the pace of a turtle, Volusion might be for you.

Also, backend SEO is not good. We moved to Big Commerce and in 90 days were drawing more organic traffic than after 4 years at Volusion.

I suggest you save yourself years of heartbreaking labor and go straight to Big Commerce. Please also note I have no vested interest in Big Commerce. I just want to save someone years of hard work that are thwarted by inferior software. And don’t forget Volusion will remind you everyday that they have been voted the best (obviously not by their users).

Features22222
Support33333
Value22222
Overall Rating22222
Gary September 16, 2011

Volusion are a joke they make promises to get you send up then dont do the work they promised. Support is pathetic and when you complain they just fob you off. My advise is AVIOD its not worth all the hassle

Features11111
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating22222
Wil September 19, 2011

I have been using Volusion since when it was called Store2003. At the time it was fantastic and I had few complaints. After years of just “sticking with Volusion” I became frustrated with it’s speed, lack of updates to basic SEO and user experience needs such as faceted navigation that is not clumsy like it is currently.

I still get many calls from customers who can’t figure out how to checkout or the checkout page is hung up just an icon spinning saying “waiting” and usually they think it’s their problem but the reality is the checkout portion of the site is poorly designed and I wouldn’t try to build a business around it from a fail safe perspective.

More recently over the past year the support team is elusive about issues…they will never admit to any problem with their software. They try to outwit you like a bunch of high school students.

Clearly the customer service especially billing support is reaching the Lowest Common Denominator.

Their new adoption of Rackspace cloud servers and the Akamai network for loading images is a big performance surprise, but they really should be focused on things like better front end experience, faceted navigation, and allowing more custom product variables to be added to products rather than having to concatenate all your product data into one annoying field called Product description.

If they designed the product database to have a joined table which could be fully customizable for product variables, they could eliminate the excess of catch-all product fields that rarely apply to most e-commerce businesses. This customizable table could then somehow tie back to navigation making it a more functional faceted approach rather than forcing us to make a billion categories to trick Volusion into being a faceted user experience.

If you don’t have the ability to build your own Product Management System then good luck if you have to manage your data in excel or in Volusion itself (this will take years off your life from lag time).

Overall it was very well built by Kevin Sproles who did an amazing job in the beginning. However it seems they have moved to more of a service platform and have forgotten the SaaS aspect which took forever to evolve. It wasn’t until recently (2010-11) that they made changes that made it somewhat current. I would opt for something like Magento but now that eBay owns it and the fact that it is a clunky, difficult to install solution I would stay away from it too.

Maybe it is worth it to spend 100k on a solution in the beginning rather than getting too dependent on catch all systems that never do your business justice.

Features33333
Support22222
Value22222
Overall Rating22222
John M October 3, 2011

I often feel like Volusion is run by a bunch of high school children who do not understand business nor the impact their actions have on other businesses.

Overall, Volusion has a great product, but when you combine it with the poor speed performance of slow loading web pages, poor technical support and arrogant people that just simply give you answers to shut you up, the true value of Volusion is very poort, at best.

I have been with Volusion for three years and I had, at one point, six web stores with Volusion. My complaints are similiar to those of others: web pages are very slow in loading. I even upgraded all of my web sites to their new version 11, I changed all of my web sites to their CDN – Content Distribtuion Network program and the performance is still very slow. The reason for this is that they simply have to many stores on servers trying to access their underpowered databases.

Next, Technical Support is arrogant and has gotten very bad in the past 12-18 months.

Example of poor-arrogant Technical Support: I received an email notifying me its time to renew my SSL certificate. I renewed immediately by cliciking on the email link and I I purchased and paid for the new SSL certificate through their web shopping cart.

I then received an email telling me I needed to activate a special email in order to finalize the activation of the new SSL certificate. When this new email adddess was ready, I was to respond to the Support Ticket that it was ready and they would move forward.

I created the new email address and responded to the Support Ticket thatw e were ready to go.

Seven days later, the Support Ticket was still active and the SSL certificate had not been renewed. I followed up asking for a progress update. No response.

Four Days later, I again asked for an update – this time through their Online Chat – because their telephone support had a very long wait time and the Online Chat was fine for me.

I was told the department which handled SSL certificates would jump on this immediately and it would be completed by the end of the day.

Other miscellaneous contact over the next couple of days.

Today, my SSL certificate expired and anyone coming to my web site is told that it is not a secure site.

I called their Technical Support again and was told it would take 24-48 hours to complete the reactivation.

Twice this past week, at 9:00pm, our stores were taken offline ‘Maintenance’.

I think Volusion has many problems.

Beginning today, we are looking at moving our stores away from Volusion.

Features55555
Support22222
Value22222
Overall Rating22222
joe October 7, 2011

Im extremely frustrated with Volusion and would never recommend it to a friend. The only thing it has going for them is lots of features for ecommerce besides that it has been awful. Their “out of this world customer support” is average at best, and you have to wait 15 to 30 minutes to even speak to someone. which is hit or miss as it is. Half of them can help, the other half are clueless and just want to transfer you to someone else, which you will then wait again to speak to someone. I really wish I wouldve done more research before signing and getting all set up with volusion because I would not use them again. Im stuck at this point for now but will be leaving soon when I can find a better solution.

Features22222
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Jean October 13, 2011

Volusion was really great a few years ago but starting two years ago they’ve had a lot of problems. Something goes down or quits working every week. Watch status.volusion.com if you don’t believe me. I switch to big commerce a few months ago and haven’t had a single store down problem. I really feel sorry for the people who were shut down this past labor day. You need to switch.

Ronin October 22, 2011

I have two words about Volusion. Stay Away! Here was my experience. I signed up for the two week free trial store. It worked great and the people in support fixed all my problems really fast. Then I committed to a real store with a monthly fee. That’s when the trouble began. It took almost two weeks for my real store to be available. Then nothing could be imported. I had to redo everything I had done on the free demo store. So after a month I finally had a real store running. Then I got my first bill. They charged me for the entire month even though my store had only been online for 3 days. I called support. This time they were not nearly so helpful. They finally agreed to “only” charge me for two weeks. I had already been on the phone for two hours. It wasn’t worth fighting another two hours for $10. I made several more support calls over the next month, usually due to my site being down. Support was not nearly as friendly or helpful as they had been during my free trial. Then my next bill arrived. Instead of $20 it was $200!!! They had added a bunch of fees but according to the price sheet there wasn’t supposed to be any set up fees. So I called support again. They explained the fees were not set up fees. They were add on fees. Huh? The agreed to give me a $100 credit. I asked to speak with a supervisor. He gave me another $50 credit making my bill $50 but would not drop it to $50. 3 hours later I gave up. Another month. More down time. Another bill. $185 this time. This time it is excess bandwidth charges. I call support. They were not friendly at all and did not offer any credit, saying they had to pay their vendors for the bandwidth so I had to pay them. But when I asked what the bandwidth was for they couldn’t answer the question. I ended the call by asking that my account be cancelled. They said it will take 30 days to cancel my account, and that it had to be done from my admin page in my website not over the phone. I tried to find the cancel button but couldn’t find it. Called support again. Two hours later they walked me through finding the cancel page. It’s very hard to find. My store is down and I’m out of business while looking for another solution. Then guess what. A month later I have another charge for $173 on my credit card! I call support, again. Turns out I had gone 2 days past my billing cycle so they billed me for the entire next month AND, you got it, more excess band width. I ask how can I have excess bandwidth in just two days. Their explanation is that it must have been all the people trying to find my site after I shut it down. This time they did credit me for $100 but they left the rest of the charges for 2 days. I’m disputing with my credit card company. This whole debacle has used up days of my time. So back to my two words about Volusion. Stay Away!

Features22222
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Robert A October 29, 2011

Customer service is non-existent. If you have a complaint or problem, it is never their problem. The management of the company hides from it’s customers. It seems that nobody is ultimately responsible for their decisions.
Slow loading pages, slow customer service and overall they have gotten to big for their britches. Look at all options and buyer beware with Volusion.

Features22222
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Chris A. November 10, 2011

If you are new to ecommerce and need a fairly easy software then Volusion is good. If you have a question about anything expect to be on hold minimum 30 minutes and typically an email response is next day at best. My biggest issue is the constant DNS server errors you will get (very hard to get customers if your website is constantly down). They will give you an excuse when you call them about this as well. My page and volusions has been down at least 1 time every hour so far. Definately will be going to someone else and I have only been a customer for 30 days.

Features33333
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Robert November 29, 2011

Volusion is absolutely without a doubt the worst company I have ever done business with. I wish I could give zero stars but that’s not an option. I should have had great sales these past few days (Black Friday through Cyber Monday). I had thousands of visitors, but my Volusion shopping cart was rejecting them. I lost more money this year than I cleared in project each of past seven years. I tried calling support but was on infinite hold. I finally got through to someon. She told me they prefer that we use “Live Chat” instead of calling on the phone so they can handle more customers at once. I’m so out of here.

Features11111
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Dean December 24, 2011

Their credit card processing went out on Thursday December 22, 2011, which means my Volusion store can NOT process credit cards during the Holiday season!

Right now it is December 24, 2011 and our store still can NOT process credit cards. Their support does not provide any answers or solutions, the problem has NOT been fixed, and Volusion does not any plan in site to fix the problem. They blame it on someone else of course, but I hold the person who sends me my merchant services bill responsible, which is Volusion.

Their support is horrible, and does seem like a bunch of high school kids who try to give you some IT dribble that offers nothing in the form of support or problem solving. They used to be good, I don’t know if they had some personnel cutbacks in the last two years or what, but I would not reccommend Volusion any more.

My New Years resolution is to find a new web hosting company for my e-commerce store.

I have simple needs, an e-commerce provider whose Credit Card servers don’t go down, and allow my customers to buy things. Imagine your store can’t run credit cards, and the people in charge of support do nothing about it.

Happy Holidays everyone!

Features22222
Support11111
Value22222
Overall Rating11111
Winnie Yu December 26, 2011

Horrendous customer service. After having been with them for almost 4 years, during the most recent payment gateway crash spanning from Dec 22 to today, Dec 26, Volusion claims no responsibility, does not offer any solutions, and basically, does not care about problem resolution. Over the years, myriad problems have always occurred. This latest episode has convinced me to move my site for good.

Features22222
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Aron E January 17, 2012

Never touch volusion! Stay away from them they are so bad you can’t even start imagining.

I have used them now for over 2 Years.

To start listing all the problems I will never get done. so I will just tell you this if you use volusion its a waste of valuable time and money. They make you feel like you are nothing! mark my words!.

the normal waiting time to get a rep is about an hour or so. and then they tell you that they can’t help you and you have to create a ticket. OK and until then? just lose money.

I have lost 100′s of sales because of them!

anyhow the main thing is never to even consider them

Features11111
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Victor Gossler February 28, 2012

I been on Volusion for years, their credit card processing was down at Christmas for a couple of days because someone forgot to re register a name which was used in processing credit cards.

They been down again for the last few days with transactions going through once in a while. No specific reason given and after a 45 minute hold I was just told to wait, they’re aware of it and working on it.

They don’t have the intelligence to fix this in a few days?

Loosing too much money with them and they make my business look bad.

Looking for alternatives now and will be leaving them if possible.

Features33333
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Lacey March 1, 2012

Well all I have to say is I have been sitting on hold to try and get to a speak to customer service for 55 mins as of this moment and have 37 people in front of me on their volusion chat feature. This is not uncommon, and I am sure once I finally do get through to them they will not be able to fully answer my question and will just transfer me from person to person putting me on hold longer in order to answer simple questions.

Features33333
Support11111
ValueNot Rated
Overall RatingNot Rated
MikeMain March 27, 2012

Half of their “Features” are broken. Credit Card processing hardly works as of the past month. Newly implemented features are released just so they can say they have them, yet what you realize later is the feature is actually broken beyond belief and does not work half right. Support is absolutely “Out of this world” as in so terrible, it has to be from out of this world.

I could go on, but I am over them… Magento, here we come.

Features11111
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
tommy April 4, 2012

If I could give it a minus I would. Volusiuon’s templates and capabilities are not as advanced as others out there. On most parts it looks amateur. Most of their stores look like they are stuck somewhere in the early 2000′s which in turn repeal buyers from using the stores.
Their customer service is normally slow and unresponsive and their fees are higher than their competitors.

I recommend to stay away if you want to better succeed in building an online business.

Features11111
Support22222
Value22222
Overall Rating11111
steve gritchen April 10, 2012

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF , YOU ARE WARNED! they will bill you then when you have a problem their customer service is rude and worthless. and dont even bother asking for a refund for services not rendered. they will simply say no like this

Hello,

We will be closing this ticket. Your cancellation will be effective at the end of your current billing cycle and we will not be providing compensation.

Sincerely,
Kris F
Volusion Billing Manager

rude ass holes…

Features11111
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Darren May 9, 2012

Im going to make this review short and to the point. My name is Dorron, I work as an expert in search engine optimization and Internet marketing. I will let you know an inside secret to reviews. In our business we have a saying never trust a review unless its negative. Let me explain, most companies hire language specific individuals to sit down open dummy email accounts and write great creative reviews full time and this is not one of them this review is the real deal!. Volusion solutions are simply amazing!!!. I work with other content management systems such as wordpress, drupal, joomla etc. If you want to open an ecom business and want to get into ecommerce this is the one and only top solution. Let me give a brief explanations why. With other CMS programs you have to add a ton of widgets and features, play with template etc. With Voluision, everything is user friendly right out of the box so to speak. Easy managment of products, adding sub categories, tracking orders, business managment etc. As a Internet professional I highly recommend this program, at least try with the demo and a free template and see for yourself. I repeat I do not work for them or any marketing company affiliated this is coming from a real person, and real experience I simply love volusion and their live support pure simple and absolutely first rate….if i could rate 6 stars I would

Features55555
Support55555
Value55555
Overall Rating55555
GBrown May 25, 2012

Volusion is not worth the time or money they promise things they dont deliver
The sales person makes false claims and the support is non existant

Features11111
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Michael June 18, 2012

They give you all the help you want and then some, until you give them your credit card and then they vanish. They do have 24×7 help if you don’t mind waiting over 10 – 25 min., I never actually got through to anyone on there tech phone line. They answer that new customer line in less than a minute flat and will answer any question you have, it’s too bad I didn’t find out there answer didn’t work for my situation(it created about 5x more work). I would strongly suggest using someone else if you have any complexity to your inventory

example:
if you sell shirts that come in different sizes and colors but you don’t sell every size and every color combination, there system will create every possible combination and you have to delete the ones you don’t want. This does not seem like a big deal until you see how there system organizes all the options you must sort through just to get to the couple you need to remove. I don’t know how to explain it properly but the term “visual headache” comes to mind and I actually like doing this kind of work. I was not to worried about that problem because they said I could just upload my products in a CSV file, so I would not have to deal with that headache. I downloaded every CSV file they gave me access to and I quickly found out that if you use there product inventory management system you can not simply create a CSV file with your product information and then upload it to your account. There system will not know any of the options (shirt-red-medium or Shirt-blue-large) you must create 2 other CSV file that relate to a total of 4 different database tables. Once I got really familiar with there software (3 days) I felt like I know more than there tech people because I had to explain things to them they didn’t understand (link and linkid CSV files)

I’m not posting what shopping cart I did go with because I don’t want this to look like an advertisement but there are much better ones out there and after lots of work I found a great one.

Please forgive my grammar I didn’t plan on writing so much since Volusion has now backed me up over a week on this project and I only planed roughly 2 weeks for it

Features22222
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111
Sheila Liao June 28, 2012

Poor service, no communiation, can not get customer service.

They have never informed you the expiration of your domain, but still charge you monthly ecommerce fee. How can you have a store without domain. They took more than a year’s service fee and not tell you the domain name expired.

It is very difficult to find a person to help you. NO SUPPORT.

Features11111
Support11111
Value11111
Overall Rating11111




Click Here To Visit This Host !